Expat in Israel.

Wednesday, July 26, 2006

Scam

If you get an email that includes "An Israeli software company have developed a free, safe and useful tool for us - the Internet Megaphone.

Please go to www.giyus.org, download the Megaphone, and you will receive daily updates with instant links to important internet polls, problematic articles that require a talk back, etc. "

Just don't. It's a scam of course. Bastards.

5 comments:

Harry said...

Uh, what gives you the idea that its a scam? All the sponsoring organizations link to it from their sites. Doesn't seem to be a scam at all.

Adrian said...

They lied. In the original email that was passed on to me , they quoted
Amir Gissin
Director
Public Affairs (Hasbara) Department
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Jerusalem

There is no such person there. We've checked. The domain name is registered in Arizona. Not the sort of thing an Israeli government department would do.

The address gievn as contact details for the domain turns out to be a hotel.
Walks like a duck, looks like a duck, quacks like a duck- it's a duck.

Harry said...

I know Amir Gissin personally. Trust me, he exists. This is legit. Not a scam at all. Do a google search for "Amir Gissin."

nycat said...

Amir Gissin exists. Not sure if he wrote the letter. I am still checking.

Check out http://www.boycottwatch.org/

Bruce
http://www.nycat.org/

dailysketch said...

Of course he exists check this out:

"Stewart Purvis
Monday November 20, 2006
The Guardian

Amir Gissin runs what he calls '"Israel's Explanation Department". Which is why it is surprising to hear him admit that many Israelis think "the whole problem is that we don't explain ourselves correctly"."

http://media.guardian.co.uk/mediaguardian/story/0,,1952017,00.html

Or this:

http://www.pictureit.co.il/ariel/